Repertoire Rules

Each competitor will program the required repertoire in Rounds I, II, and III at his/her discretion.   The maximum time for each round must include time between movements and between compositions.  Failure to comply with the specific time limit for each round may result in a penalty by the Competition Jury.

In choosing repertoire, at least one complete classical sonata by Mozart, Haydn, or Beethoven must be included in either Round I or II.  The remaining time in each round will be filled with pieces chosen by the competitor.

ROUND I: Competitors will each perform a solo recital not to exceed 25 minutes.

ROUND II: Competitors will each perform a solo recital not to exceed 30 minutes. Repertoire from Round I may not be repeated.

ROUND III (Semi-Finals): Semi-Finalists will each perform a solo recital of repertoire of his/her own choosing, not to exceed 50 minutes. Repertoire from earlier rounds may not be repeated.

ROUND IV (Finals) Finalists will each perform one complete work from the 2016 Concerto List below with the Hilton Head Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Maestro John Morris Russell:

2016 Approved Concerto List

  • Beethoven – Concerto No. 2 in B-flat major, Op. 19
  • Beethoven – Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37
  • Beethoven – Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58
  • Beethoven – Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, Op. 73
  • Chopin – Concerto No. 1 in E minor, Op. 11
  • Chopin – Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21
  • Grieg – Concerto in A minor, Op. 16
  • Liszt – Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major, S.124
  • Liszt – Concerto No. 2 in A major, S. 125
  • Mozart – Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K.466
  • Mozart – Concerto No. 21 in C major, K.467
  • Mozart – Concerto No. 23 in A major, K.488
  • Mozart – Concerto No. 25 in C major, K.503
  • Mozart – Concerto No. 26 in D major, K.537
  • Rachmaninoff – Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18
  • Rachmaninoff – Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30
  • Saint-Saëns – Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 22
  • Schumann – Concerto in A minor, Op. 54
  • Tchaikovsky – Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 23