2020 Repertoire

ROUND I: Competitors will each perform a solo recital not to exceed 25 minutes.

ROUND II: Competitors will each perform a solo recital not to exceed 30 minutes

During the totality of Rounds I and II, the following required repertoire must be performed:

  • A Baroque piece (Bach or Scarlatti)
  • A complete classical sonata by Mozart, Haydn, or Beethoven
  • A Romantic era piece
  • A piece written in 1950 or later

Any individual piece from the required repertoire above can be programmed into either Round I or II, at the discretion of the competitor.  The remaining time in each Round will be filled with pieces chosen by the competitor.  The maximum time for each round must include time between movements and between compositions.  Failure to comply with the specific time limit for each round may result in a penalty by the Competition Jury.

A work cannot be repeated in both rounds. Works from the audition files may be played in either Round I or Round II, if desired.

ROUND III (Finals):  Finalists will each perform the First Movement (unless otherwise specified) of a concerto, selected from the 2020 Approved Concerto List below, with the Hilton Head Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Maestro John Morris Russell:

2020 Approved Concerto List

  • Beethoven – Concerto No. 2 in B-flat major, Op. 19
  • Beethoven – Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37
  • Beethoven – Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, Op. 73
  • Chopin – Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21
  • Grieg – Concerto in A minor Op. 16
  • Mendelssohn – Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25   Movements II and III
  • Mendelssohn – Concerto No. 2 in D minor, Op. 40   Movements II and III
  • Mozart – Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K.466
  • Mozart – Concerto No. 21 in C major, K.467
  • Mozart – Concerto No. 23 in A major, K.488
  • Prokofiev – Concerto No. 3 in C major, Op. 26
  • Rachmaninoff – Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18
  • Rachmaninoff – Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30
  • Saint-Saëns – Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 22
  • Schumann – Concerto in A minor, Op. 54
  • Tchaikovsky – Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op 23